Day Two – Intinerium ad sanctuarium Sancti Jacob et Fontem Gombaudi

As tired as I was, I hardly slept, so I can’t say I woke up this morning. After a simple continental breakfast, (delicious cafe au lait) I was off to the Basilica of Jesus Medinaceli.
The Franciscans offered to let me concelebrate the Mass at 9 AM and I was grateful. They have a beautiful white marble communion rail, which they do no use. I assisted with Holy Communion. Of course everything was as it is in most places I’ve seen – the two lines down the centre aisle, with no one given the option of kneeling to adore Our Lord before receiving him, as Saint Augustine says we should: “Christ held Himself in His hands when He gave His Body to His disciples saying: ‘This is My Body.’ No one partakes of this Flesh before he has adored it.” The Holy See stipulates that before receiving Our Lord, you have to an gesture of adoration if you are not receiving while kneeling.
I was not able to post from Day One at the Hostal Don Diego. The connection with the internet was extremely slow and I was not able to access my email to post by email. After the Mass, I went to Sarbucks so that I could post from there. Here is what I see as I posted.
Before boarding the train leaving at about 2 PM, I had a simple lunch at the station – gaspacho,

Gazpacho Andaluz

some kind of fried cod fish, plain salad, and a dessert called pudin – a type of bread pudding. I was thinking how in Europe, even some plain old eating place at the train station serves good food. I really enjoyed the meal accompanied with a glass of ordinary red wine. The meal– two little canapes, the gazpacho, the grilled fish, green salad, slice of pudin, and glass of wine: $18.50 CND. Everything is expensive here, but the quality is appreciable. I can’t wait to get home and try my hand at the gazpacho andaluz.
I slept most of the way to Santiago, so there is not much to say. I could not even keep my eyes open enough to read. The train finally pulled into the station about 10PM. My room is in a place called Ciudad de Vacaciones Monte de Gozo (Vacation City Mount Joy). It is built on the hill that the pilgrims taking the French way would catch their first glimpse of the Cathedral and Shrine of Saint James, hence the name, Monte do Gozo, Mount Joy.
I look forward to the morning and my first glimpse of the Cathedral.

About Didobonaparte

A Roman Catholic priest of the Archdiocese of Vancouver, I am the parish priest of Saint Joseph's Catholic Church, Langley.
This entry was posted in The Main Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day Two – Intinerium ad sanctuarium Sancti Jacob et Fontem Gombaudi

  1. bookgetaway says:

    I’ve seen the Monte de Gozo area from the train–I think that John Paul II’s World Youth Day rally took place in that area. Again, wonderful to see your photos. I recognize the Medinaceli and the Neptuno. The gazpacho looks delicious; I just made some the other day, with tomatoes finally getting ripe around here. I can just imagine you snoozing all the way to Santiago, and it’s a good way to catch up from jet lag. Can’t wait to hear more, as you settle in to Santiago de Compostela.

  2. Sash says:

    We are enjoying your blog. I feel like I am right beside you. Keep it up. You are in our prayers.

Feel free to comment

